IAR CE deadline: December 31. 84 days left in adopting states. Check what you owe

For asset managers

SEC-registered wealth management firm Broker-dealer affiliated

Charles Schwab & Co., Inc.

As of its Form ADV filed September 17, 2026, Charles Schwab & Co., Inc., an SEC-registered, broker-dealer affiliated wealth management firm in San Francisco, California, reported no regulatory assets under management.

Registration

Main office
San Francisco, CA
Registration
SEC-registered, Approved
CRD number
5393
SEC file number
801-29938
Registered since
July 24, 1987
Latest Form ADV filing
September 17, 2026
Organized as
Corporation
Fiscal year ends
December
Other offices
449

Key figures

Regulatory assets under management
$0
Discretionary
$0
Non-discretionary
$0
Accounts
0 (0 discretionary)
Clients
955,800, approximate as reported
Employees
30,690
Advisory staff
4,127 performing investment advisory functions
Average account
Not reported
Asset growth, 1 year
Not reported
Asset growth, 3-year annual rate
Not reported
Asset growth, 5-year annual rate
Not reported
Client growth, 1 year
0.7% (from 949,149)

Broker-dealer affiliated. The firm is itself a broker-dealer as well as an investment adviser (Form ADV Item 6.A(1)). It is ranked among all wealth firms, the directory's view that includes wirehouses and broker-dealer firms, not in the main lists of independent RIAs. How firms are classed.

Growth rates come from the SEC's yearly snapshots and are left blank when the years are not comparable.

Rankings

Among all wealth firms, including wirehouses and broker-dealer firms.

Assets over time

Charles Schwab & Co., Inc.: regulatory assets under managementThe SEC's yearly snapshots and the latest filing. Years of state registration are not in the SEC files.RAUM the firm reported in each snapshot, October 1, 2010 to October 2, 2026.
$0$0$1$1$1201020132016202020232026$0October 1, 2010: $0October 3, 2011: $0October 1, 2012: $0October 1, 2013: $0October 1, 2014: $0October 1, 2015: $0October 3, 2016: $0October 2, 2017: $0October 1, 2018: $0October 1, 2019: $0October 1, 2020: $0October 4, 2021: $0October 3, 2022: $0October 5, 2023: $0October 1, 2024: $0September 2, 2025: $0October 2, 2026: $0
Data table
Charles Schwab & Co., Inc.: regulatory assets under management
As ofRAUM
October 1, 2010$0
October 3, 2011$0
October 1, 2012$0
October 1, 2013$0
October 1, 2014$0
October 1, 2015$0
October 3, 2016$0
October 2, 2017$0
October 1, 2018$0
October 1, 2019$0
October 1, 2020$0
October 4, 2021$0
October 3, 2022$0
October 5, 2023$0
October 1, 2024$0
September 2, 2025$0
October 2, 2026$0

Clients and services

Client mix

No client types reported.

How the firm is paid

  • Fixed fees
  • Other

Advisory services

  • Financial planning
  • Selection of other advisers
  • Other

Financial planning clients (Item 5.H): 32000.

Wrap fee program sponsor or portfolio manager: yes.

Other business, affiliations and custody

Other business activities (Item 6.A)

  • Broker-dealer
  • Insurance broker or agent

Financial industry affiliations (Item 7.A)

  • Broker-dealer
  • Other investment adviser
  • Commodity pool operator or commodity trading advisor
  • Futures commission merchant
  • Banking or thrift institution
  • Trust company
  • Insurance company or agency
  • Pension consultant
  • Sponsor, general partner or managing member of pooled investment vehicles

Custody (Item 9)

The firm reported custody of client cash or securities, $447.3 billion in total.

Investment adviser representatives

IARs registered with the firm
6,788
Also registered through a broker-dealer
6,761
Employees who are IARs (Form ADV 5.B(3))
6,584

Designations held by the firm's IARs: CFP 773, CFA 46, ChFC 42, PFS 1.

Between 2,112 and 3,784 of the firm's 6,788 IARs are registered in jurisdictions that require IAR CE. The source counts registrations by jurisdiction, and many IARs are registered in more than one, so the exact number is not knowable from it. IAR CE requirements by state.

Counts only. AdvisorIQ does not list individual people.

Disclosures

On Form ADV Item 11 the firm answered yes to 12 disclosure questions. See the detail on IAPD.

Succession and acquired firms

On Form ADV Item 4 the firm did not report succeeding to another adviser's business.

Succession and M&A for advisors

Similar-sized firms in California

The five wealth firms, broker-dealer affiliated firms included, nearest in regulatory assets with a main office in the same state.

Firm data as of October 2, 2026, from ia100226.zip. Figures are as the firm reported them; corrections are made on Form ADV and appear after the next monthly reload.

Data as of October 2, 2026, from Form ADV. Sources: SEC registered adviser data (ia100226.zip) and IAPD compilation reports. How the directory is built.