State-registered independent wealth management RIA
Newstead Capital Management
As of its Form ADV filed April 15, 2026, Newstead Capital Management, a state-registered independent wealth management RIA in South Orange, New Jersey, reported $2.7 million in regulatory assets under management across 10 accounts, ranking #526 among independent RIAs in New Jersey by assets.
Registration
- Main office
- South Orange, NJ
- Registration
- State-registered, Approved
- CRD number
- 333245
- SEC file number
- None (state-registered)
- Registered since
- February 3, 2025
- Latest Form ADV filing
- April 15, 2026
- Legal name
- NEWSTEAD CAPITAL MANAGEMENT LLC
- Organized as
- Limited Liability Company
- Fiscal year ends
- December
- Other offices
- 0
Key figures
- Regulatory assets under management
- $2.7 million
- Discretionary
- $2.7 million (100.0%)
- Non-discretionary
- $0
- Accounts
- 10 (10 discretionary)
- Clients
- 5, approximate as reported
- Employees
- 2
- Advisory staff
- 2 performing investment advisory functions
- Average account
- $268,627
- Asset growth, 1 year
- Not reported
- Asset growth, 3-year annual rate
- Not reported
- Asset growth, 5-year annual rate
- Not reported
- Client growth, 1 year
- Not reported
Independent wealth management RIA: individual and high net worth clients hold at least half of its regulatory assets, it offers financial planning or portfolio management for individuals, and it is not a broker-dealer, a bank or part of one by the directory's rules. How firms are classed.
Growth rates come from the SEC's yearly snapshots and are left blank when the years are not comparable.
Rankings
Among independent wealth management RIAs.
| Ranking | Nationally | In New Jersey | Value |
|---|---|---|---|
| Largest independent RIAs by assets under management | #17,748 | #526 | $2.7 million |
| Independent RIAs with the most clients | #18,880 | #561 | 5 |
| Independent RIAs with the most accounts | #17,628 | #510 | 10 |
| Independent RIAs with the most advisory staff | #6,488 | #180 | 2 |
| Independent RIAs with the most high net worth clients | #13,805 | #409 | 5 |
Assets over time
Data table
| As of | RAUM |
|---|---|
| October 7, 2026 | $2.7 million |
Clients and services
Client mix
| Measure | Bar | RAUM |
|---|---|---|
| High net worth individuals 5 clients | $2.4 million | |
| Individuals (other than high net worth) fewer than 5 clients | $239,945 |
How the firm is paid
- A percentage of assets under management
- Performance-based fees
Advisory services
- Portfolio management for individuals or small businesses
Wrap fee program sponsor or portfolio manager: no.
Other business, affiliations and custody
Other business activities (Item 6.A)
None reported.
Financial industry affiliations (Item 7.A)
None reported.
Custody (Item 9)
The firm reported custody of client cash or securities.
Investment adviser representatives
- IARs registered with the firm
- 1
- Also registered through a broker-dealer
- 0
- Employees who are IARs (Form ADV 5.B(3))
- 2
Designations held by the firm's IARs: CFA 1.
1 of the firm's 1 IAR is registered in jurisdictions that require IAR CE. IAR CE requirements by state.
Counts only. AdvisorIQ does not list individual people.
Disclosures
Our source has no Form ADV Item 11 detail for this firm. See the detail on IAPD.
Succession and acquired firms
On Form ADV Item 4 the firm did not report succeeding to another adviser's business.
Similar-sized firms in New Jersey
| Firm | City | RAUM |
|---|---|---|
| Wright Investment Partners LLC | Colonia | $2.8 million |
| Edgewater Management Partners LLC | Fort Lee | $2.7 million |
| Ihp Wealth Management | Morristown | $2.7 million |
| Fortune Capital Management LLC | Jackson | $2.7 million |
| Lincoln Asset Management | Maplewood | $2.7 million |
The five independent RIAs nearest in regulatory assets with a main office in the same state.
Elsewhere
- Newstead Capital Management on IAPD: Form ADV, brochures and disclosure detail.
- Firm website: www.newsteadcap.com
- Independent RIAs in New Jersey
Firm data as of October 7, 2026, from IA_FIRM_STATE_Feed_10_07_2026.xml.gz. Figures are as the firm reported them; corrections are made on Form ADV and appear after the next monthly reload.
Data as of October 7, 2026, from Form ADV. Sources: SEC registered adviser data (ia100226.zip) and IAPD compilation reports. How the directory is built.