State-registered independent wealth management RIA
Ascendant Capital Research, Ltd.
As of its Form ADV filed February 14, 2026, Ascendant Capital Research, Ltd., a state-registered independent wealth management RIA in Waxhaw, North Carolina, reported $29.8 million in regulatory assets under management across 22 accounts, ranking #325 among independent RIAs in North Carolina by assets.
Registration
- Registration
- State-registered, Approved
- CRD number
- 284601
- SEC file number
- None (state-registered)
- Registered since
- December 15, 2016
- Latest Form ADV filing
- February 14, 2026
- Organized as
- Corporation
- Fiscal year ends
- December
- Other offices
- 0
Key figures
- Regulatory assets under management
- $29.8 million
- Discretionary
- $27.5 million (92.3%)
- Non-discretionary
- $2.3 million
- Accounts
- 22 (19 discretionary)
- Clients
- 22, approximate as reported
- Employees
- 2
- Advisory staff
- 1 performing investment advisory functions
- Average account
- $1.4 million
- Asset growth, 1 year
- Not reported
- Asset growth, 3-year annual rate
- Not reported
- Asset growth, 5-year annual rate
- Not reported
- Client growth, 1 year
- Not reported
Independent wealth management RIA: individual and high net worth clients hold at least half of its regulatory assets, it offers financial planning or portfolio management for individuals, and it is not a broker-dealer, a bank or part of one by the directory's rules. How firms are classed.
Growth rates come from the SEC's yearly snapshots and are left blank when the years are not comparable.
Rankings
Among independent wealth management RIAs.
| Ranking | Nationally | In North Carolina | Value |
|---|---|---|---|
| Largest independent RIAs by assets under management | #12,398 | #325 | $29.8 million |
| Independent RIAs with the most clients | #15,635 | #425 | 22 |
| Independent RIAs with the most accounts | #16,102 | #438 | 22 |
| Independent RIAs with the most advisory staff | #10,188 | #254 | 1 |
Assets over time
Data table
| As of | RAUM |
|---|---|
| October 7, 2026 | $29.8 million |
Clients and services
Client mix
| Measure | Bar | RAUM |
|---|---|---|
| Individuals (other than high net worth) 22 clients | $29.8 million |
How the firm is paid
- A percentage of assets under management
- Hourly charges
Advisory services
- Financial planning
- Portfolio management for individuals or small businesses
Financial planning clients (Item 5.H): 1-10.
Wrap fee program sponsor or portfolio manager: no.
Other business, affiliations and custody
Other business activities (Item 6.A)
None reported.
Financial industry affiliations (Item 7.A)
None reported.
Custody (Item 9)
The firm reported no custody of client cash or securities.
Investment adviser representatives
- IARs registered with the firm
- 2
- Also registered through a broker-dealer
- 0
- Employees who are IARs (Form ADV 5.B(3))
- 1
Designations held by the firm's IARs: CFA 1.
0 of the firm's 2 IARs are registered in jurisdictions that require IAR CE. IAR CE requirements by state.
Counts only. AdvisorIQ does not list individual people.
Disclosures
Our source has no Form ADV Item 11 detail for this firm. See the detail on IAPD.
Succession and acquired firms
On Form ADV Item 4 the firm did not report succeeding to another adviser's business.
Similar-sized firms in North Carolina
| Firm | City | RAUM |
|---|---|---|
| Toucan Financial, Inc. | Charlotte | $30.0 million |
| Opus Financial Advisors, Inc. | Statesville | $30.0 million |
| Gulfstream Capital, LLC | Not reported | $30.0 million |
| Aurora Strategic Advisors, LLC | Lumberton | $29.8 million |
| Darda Financial | Winston-Salem | $29.6 million |
The five independent RIAs nearest in regulatory assets with a main office in the same state.
Elsewhere
- Ascendant Capital Research, Ltd. on IAPD: Form ADV, brochures and disclosure detail.
- Independent RIAs in North Carolina
Firm data as of October 7, 2026, from IA_FIRM_STATE_Feed_10_07_2026.xml.gz. Figures are as the firm reported them; corrections are made on Form ADV and appear after the next monthly reload.
Data as of October 7, 2026, from Form ADV. Sources: SEC registered adviser data (ia100226.zip) and IAPD compilation reports. How the directory is built.