SEC-registered wealth management firm Broker-dealer affiliated
October Effect Ltd.
As of its Form ADV filed June 25, 2026, October Effect Ltd., an SEC-registered, broker-dealer affiliated wealth management firm in Virginia Beach, Virginia, reported $145.6 million in regulatory assets under management across 597 accounts, ranking #179 among all wealth firms in Virginia by assets.
Registration
- Main office
- Virginia Beach, VA
- Registration
- SEC-registered, Approved
- CRD number
- 281369
- SEC file number
- 801-132795
- Registered since
- May 16, 2025
- Latest Form ADV filing
- June 25, 2026
- Organized as
- Corporation
- Fiscal year ends
- December
- Other offices
- 2
Key figures
- Regulatory assets under management
- $145.6 million
- Discretionary
- $145.6 million (100.0%)
- Non-discretionary
- $0
- Accounts
- 597 (597 discretionary)
- Clients
- 600, approximate as reported
- Employees
- 4
- Advisory staff
- 4 performing investment advisory functions
- Average account
- $243,879
- Asset growth, 1 year
- 30.4% (from $111.7 million a year earlier)
- Asset growth, 3-year annual rate
- Not reported
- Asset growth, 5-year annual rate
- Not reported
- Client growth, 1 year
- 1.9% (from 589)
Broker-dealer affiliated. The firm is affiliated with a broker-dealer (Item 7.A(1)), at least half of its advisory staff are registered representatives of a broker-dealer (Item 5.B(2) against 5.B(1)), and its advisers manage less than $100 million each on average (5.F(2)(c) over 5.B(1)), the pattern of a broker-dealer's advisory arm rather than an adviser that owns a small broker-dealer. It is ranked among all wealth firms, the directory's view that includes wirehouses and broker-dealer firms, not in the main lists of independent RIAs. How firms are classed.
Growth rates come from the SEC's yearly snapshots and are left blank when the years are not comparable.
Rankings
Among all wealth firms, including wirehouses and broker-dealer firms.
Assets over time
Data table
| As of | RAUM |
|---|---|
| September 2, 2025 | $111.7 million |
| October 2, 2026 | $145.6 million |
Clients and services
Client mix
| Measure | Bar | RAUM |
|---|---|---|
| Individuals (other than high net worth) 574 clients | $99.1 million | |
| High net worth individuals 22 clients | $46.1 million | |
| Investment companies 1 client | $317,519 |
How the firm is paid
- A percentage of assets under management
- Hourly charges
- Fixed fees
- Performance-based fees
- Other
Advisory services
- Financial planning
- Portfolio management for individuals or small businesses
- Pension consulting
- Selection of other advisers
Financial planning clients (Item 5.H): 26-50.
Wrap fee program sponsor or portfolio manager: no.
Other business, affiliations and custody
Other business activities (Item 6.A)
None reported.
Financial industry affiliations (Item 7.A)
- Broker-dealer
- Accountant or accounting firm
- Insurance company or agency
Custody (Item 9)
The firm reported no custody of client cash or securities.
Investment adviser representatives
- IARs registered with the firm
- 4
- Also registered through a broker-dealer
- 2
- Employees who are IARs (Form ADV 5.B(3))
- 4
Designations held by the firm's IARs: CFP 1.
0 of the firm's 4 IARs are registered in jurisdictions that require IAR CE. IAR CE requirements by state.
Counts only. AdvisorIQ does not list individual people.
Disclosures
On Form ADV Item 11 the firm answered yes to 0 disclosure questions. See the detail on IAPD.
Succession and acquired firms
On Form ADV Item 4 the firm did not report succeeding to another adviser's business.
Similar-sized firms in Virginia
| Firm | City | RAUM |
|---|---|---|
| Drystone LLC | Charlottesville | $151.2 million |
| Cope Connelly | Arlington | $151.1 million |
| Spark Financial Advisors | Richmond | $147.1 million |
| Ean Equity Financial Services LLC | Leesburg | $144.7 million |
| Glover Park Wealth Management, LLC | Arlington | $144.3 million |
The five wealth firms, broker-dealer affiliated firms included, nearest in regulatory assets with a main office in the same state.
Elsewhere
- October Effect Ltd. on IAPD: Form ADV, brochures and disclosure detail.
- Firm website: www.financialplanning-vab.com
- Wealth management firms in Virginia
Firm data as of October 2, 2026, from ia100226.zip. Figures are as the firm reported them; corrections are made on Form ADV and appear after the next monthly reload.
Data as of October 2, 2026, from Form ADV. Sources: SEC registered adviser data (ia100226.zip) and IAPD compilation reports. How the directory is built.