IAR CE deadline: December 31. 84 days left in adopting states. Check what you owe

For asset managers

State market data

Independent RIAs in Alaska

As of October 2, 2026, 23 independent wealth management RIAs based in Alaska reported $2.3 billion in regulatory assets under management; the largest by assets was Alaska Wealth Advisors, with $1.2 billion.

Include wirehouses and broker-dealer firms

Independent wealth management RIAs
23
SEC-registered
4
State-registered
19
Regulatory assets under management
$2.3 billion
Client accounts
6,663
Median firm size
$29.2 million
Broker-dealer affiliated firms, not included
0, with $0

Alaska has not adopted IAR continuing education. Status from NASAA's IAR CE map, checked October 5, 2026. IAR CE in Alaska.

Top firms in Alaska

Largest independent RIAs by assets under management

Largest independent RIAs by assets under management in Alaska, top 10
Rank Firm City RAUM
1 Alaska Wealth Advisors Anchorage $1.2 billion
2 Bright Road Wealth Management, LLC Anchorage $443.3 million
3 Heisten Wrenn Private Wealth, LLC Anchorage $231.8 million
4 Blue Anchor Wealth Advisors, LLC Ketchikan $144.2 million
5 Change Wealth Advisors Anchorage $67.2 million
6 Coho Advisory Services, LLC Anchorage $52.4 million
7 Girdwood Capital LLC Girdwood $44.7 million
8 Capital Advisors Not reported $34.0 million
9 Outlook Financial Services Anchorage $30.7 million
10 Artica Financial Services LLC Anchorage $27.6 million

Top 100 in Alaska

Fastest-growing independent RIAs over one year

Fastest-growing independent RIAs over one year in Alaska, top 10
Rank Firm City Growth Starting value
1 Heisten Wrenn Private Wealth, LLC Anchorage 37.4% $168.7 million
2 Bright Road Wealth Management, LLC Anchorage 26.8% $349.5 million
3 Alaska Wealth Advisors Anchorage 24.9% $925.4 million

Top 100 in Alaska

Fastest-growing independent RIAs over three years

Fastest-growing independent RIAs over three years in Alaska, top 10
Rank Firm City Growth Starting value
1 Bright Road Wealth Management, LLC Anchorage 28.4% $209.2 million
2 Alaska Wealth Advisors Anchorage 17.9% $706.0 million

Top 100 in Alaska

Fastest-growing independent RIAs over five years

Fastest-growing independent RIAs over five years in Alaska, top 10
Rank Firm City Growth Starting value
1 Bright Road Wealth Management, LLC Anchorage 24.4% $148.9 million
2 Alaska Wealth Advisors Anchorage 15.5% $563.4 million

Top 100 in Alaska

Independent RIAs with the biggest asset gains over one year

Independent RIAs with the biggest asset gains over one year in Alaska, top 10
Rank Firm City Increase
1 Alaska Wealth Advisors Anchorage $230.8 million
2 Bright Road Wealth Management, LLC Anchorage $93.8 million
3 Heisten Wrenn Private Wealth, LLC Anchorage $63.1 million

Top 100 in Alaska

Independent RIAs with the most clients

Top 100 in Alaska

Independent RIAs with the fastest client growth over one year

Independent RIAs with the fastest client growth over one year in Alaska, top 10
Rank Firm City Growth Starting value
1 Heisten Wrenn Private Wealth, LLC Anchorage 34.9% 166
2 Bright Road Wealth Management, LLC Anchorage 11.1% 576
3 Alaska Wealth Advisors Anchorage 6.8% 629

Top 100 in Alaska

Independent RIAs with the most accounts

Top 100 in Alaska

Independent RIAs with the most advisory staff

Top 100 in Alaska

Independent RIAs with the most high net worth clients

Top 100 in Alaska

Independent RIAs with the most CFP professionals

Top 100 in Alaska

Newest independent RIAs

Newest independent RIAs in Alaska, top 10
Rank Firm City Amount
1 Blue Anchor Wealth Advisors, LLC Ketchikan $144.2 million
2 Compass Wealth Advisor Not reported $0
2 True Range Strategic Wealth LLC Anchorage $0
2 Stellar Wealth Management Anchorage $0
2 Honorpoint Financial Wasilla $0

Top 100 in Alaska

Over time

From the SEC's yearly files: SEC-registered independent RIAs based in Alaska, from October 2018, each snapshot classed from its own Form ADV answers.

FirmsSEC-registered independent RIAs. 9 snapshots, October 1, 2018 to October 2, 2026.Firms, SEC-registered independent RIAs in Alaska, in each snapshot from October 1, 2018 to October 2, 2026.
02462018202020212023202420264October 1, 2018: 4October 1, 2019: 4October 1, 2020: 4October 4, 2021: 6October 3, 2022: 5October 5, 2023: 5October 1, 2024: 5September 2, 2025: 5October 2, 2026: 4
Data table
Firms
As ofFirms
October 1, 20184
October 1, 20194
October 1, 20204
October 4, 20216
October 3, 20225
October 5, 20235
October 1, 20245
September 2, 20255
October 2, 20264
Regulatory assets under managementSEC-registered independent RIAs. 9 snapshots, October 1, 2018 to October 2, 2026.Regulatory assets under management, SEC-registered independent RIAs in Alaska, in each snapshot from October 1, 2018 to October 2, 2026.
$0$1B$2B$3B201820202021202320242026$2BOctober 1, 2018: $817.5 millionOctober 1, 2019: $864.7 millionOctober 1, 2020: $1.0 billionOctober 4, 2021: $1.4 billionOctober 3, 2022: $1.6 billionOctober 5, 2023: $1.6 billionOctober 1, 2024: $2.0 billionSeptember 2, 2025: $2.2 billionOctober 2, 2026: $2.0 billion
Data table
Regulatory assets under management
As ofRegulatory assets under management
October 1, 2018$817.5 million
October 1, 2019$864.7 million
October 1, 2020$1.0 billion
October 4, 2021$1.4 billion
October 3, 2022$1.6 billion
October 5, 2023$1.6 billion
October 1, 2024$2.0 billion
September 2, 2025$2.2 billion
October 2, 2026$2.0 billion
Client accountsSEC-registered independent RIAs. 9 snapshots, October 1, 2018 to October 2, 2026.Client accounts, SEC-registered independent RIAs in Alaska, in each snapshot from October 1, 2018 to October 2, 2026.
02,0004,0006,0008,0002018202020212023202420265,379October 1, 2018: 2,205October 1, 2019: 3,569October 1, 2020: 3,864October 4, 2021: 5,209October 3, 2022: 5,242October 5, 2023: 5,772October 1, 2024: 6,804September 2, 2025: 6,928October 2, 2026: 5,379
Data table
Client accounts
As ofClient accounts
October 1, 20182,205
October 1, 20193,569
October 1, 20203,864
October 4, 20215,209
October 3, 20225,242
October 5, 20235,772
October 1, 20246,804
September 2, 20256,928
October 2, 20265,379
Median firm size (RAUM)SEC-registered independent RIAs. 9 snapshots, October 1, 2018 to October 2, 2026.Median firm size (RAUM), SEC-registered independent RIAs in Alaska, in each snapshot from October 1, 2018 to October 2, 2026.
$0$100M$200M$300M$400M201820202021202320242026$338MOctober 1, 2018: $170.9 millionOctober 1, 2019: $175.5 millionOctober 1, 2020: $220.1 millionOctober 4, 2021: $241.1 millionOctober 3, 2022: $302.9 millionOctober 5, 2023: $281.8 millionOctober 1, 2024: $322.9 millionSeptember 2, 2025: $349.5 millionOctober 2, 2026: $337.5 million
Data table
Median firm size (RAUM)
As ofMedian firm size (RAUM)
October 1, 2018$170.9 million
October 1, 2019$175.5 million
October 1, 2020$220.1 million
October 4, 2021$241.1 million
October 3, 2022$302.9 million
October 5, 2023$281.8 million
October 1, 2024$322.9 million
September 2, 2025$349.5 million
October 2, 2026$337.5 million

The market in Alaska now

Headline figures

Headline figures, as of October 2, 2026
MeasureIndependent RIAsSEC-registeredState-registered
Firms23419
Regulatory assets under management$2.3 billion$2.0 billion$333.2 million
Accounts6,6635,3791,284
Clients2,4911,843648
Employees714526
Advisory employees593425
Investment adviser representatives543123
Median RAUM$29.2 million$337.5 million$19.0 million
Average RAUM$128.3 million$493.9 million$23.8 million

Firms by size

Advisers grouped by regulatory assets under management.

Firms by size, as of October 2, 2026
MeasureIndependent RIAsSEC-registeredState-registered
Firms under $100 million14014
RAUM of firms under $100 million$333.2 million$0$333.2 million
Firms $100 million to $250 million220
RAUM of firms $100 million to $250 million$376.0 million$376.0 million$0
Firms $250 million to $500 million110
RAUM of firms $250 million to $500 million$443.3 million$443.3 million$0
Firms $500 million to $1 billion000
RAUM of firms $500 million to $1 billion$0$0$0
Firms $1 billion to $5 billion110
RAUM of firms $1 billion to $5 billion$1.2 billion$1.2 billion$0
Firms $5 billion to $10 billion000
RAUM of firms $5 billion to $10 billion$0$0$0
Firms $10 billion and up000
RAUM of firms $10 billion and up$0$0$0

Concentration

How much of the market the largest advisers hold.

Concentration, as of October 2, 2026
MeasureIndependent RIAsState-registered
Top 10 share of RAUM96.7%95.4%

How advisers are paid

Share of advisers reporting each form of compensation on Form ADV Item 5.E. A firm can report several.

How advisers are paid: independent RIAsAs of October 2, 2026.
MeasureBarValue
Charge a percentage of assets 73.9%
Charge hourly fees 65.2%
Charge subscription fees 4.3%
Charge fixed fees 65.2%
Receive commissions 0.0%
Charge performance-based fees 0.0%
Other compensation 4.3%
How advisers are paid, as of October 2, 2026
MeasureIndependent RIAsSEC-registeredState-registered
Charge a percentage of assets73.9%100.0%68.4%
Charge hourly fees65.2%100.0%57.9%
Charge subscription fees4.3%0.0%5.3%
Charge fixed fees65.2%75.0%63.2%
Receive commissions0.0%0.0%0.0%
Charge performance-based fees0.0%0.0%0.0%
Other compensation4.3%0.0%5.3%

Custody

Advisers reporting custody of client cash or securities on Form ADV Item 9.

Custody, as of October 2, 2026
MeasureIndependent RIAsSEC-registeredState-registered
Have custody21.7%100.0%5.3%

Broker-dealer and other affiliations

From Form ADV Items 6 and 7.

Broker-dealer and other affiliations, as of October 2, 2026
MeasureIndependent RIAsSEC-registeredState-registered
Broker-dealer affiliated0.0%0.0%0.0%

New firms and successions

New registrations and firms reporting that they succeeded to another adviser's business (Form ADV Item 4).

New firms and successions, as of October 2, 2026
MeasureIndependent RIAsSEC-registeredState-registered
New registrations514
SuccessionsNo data0No data

Other measures

Other measures, as of October 2, 2026
MeasureIndependent RIAsSEC-registeredState-registered
Firms reporting RAUM18414
Discretionary RAUM$2.2 billion$2.0 billion$269.4 million
CFP professionals19145
25th percentile RAUM$10.8 million$209.9 million$7.3 million
75th percentile RAUM$63.5 million$621.5 million$33.2 million
90th percentile RAUM$295.2 million$942.3 million$50.1 million
Average account size$346,483$367,255$259,466
Offer financial planning82.6%100.0%78.9%
RAUM growth, one yearNo data-10.7%No data

As of October 2, 2026. Definitions of every measure are on the methodology page.

Cities

Cities with at least five independent RIAs.

Data as of October 2, 2026, from Form ADV. Sources: SEC registered adviser data (ia100226.zip) and IAPD compilation reports. How the directory is built.