State-registered independent wealth management RIA
Capital Area Planning Group
As of its Form ADV filed June 17, 2026, Capital Area Planning Group, a state-registered independent wealth management RIA in Washington, District of Columbia, reported $64.8 million in regulatory assets under management across 224 accounts, ranking #16 among independent RIAs in District of Columbia by assets.
Registration
- Main office
- Washington, DC
- Registration
- State-registered, Approved
- CRD number
- 333056
- SEC file number
- None (state-registered)
- Registered since
- December 11, 2025
- Latest Form ADV filing
- June 17, 2026
- Legal name
- CAPITAL AREA PLANNING GROUP, LLC
- Organized as
- Limited Liability Company
- Fiscal year ends
- December
- Other offices
- 0
Key figures
- Regulatory assets under management
- $64.8 million
- Discretionary
- $64.8 million (100.0%)
- Non-discretionary
- $0
- Accounts
- 224 (224 discretionary)
- Clients
- 63, approximate as reported
- Employees
- 4
- Advisory staff
- 2 performing investment advisory functions
- Average account
- $289,460
- Asset growth, 1 year
- 40.7% (from $46.1 million a year earlier)
- Asset growth, 3-year annual rate
- Not reported
- Asset growth, 5-year annual rate
- Not reported
- Client growth, 1 year
- -4.5% (from 66)
Independent wealth management RIA: individual and high net worth clients hold at least half of its regulatory assets, it offers financial planning or portfolio management for individuals, and it is not a broker-dealer, a bank or part of one by the directory's rules. How firms are classed.
Growth rates come from the SEC's yearly snapshots and are left blank when the years are not comparable.
Rankings
Among independent wealth management RIAs.
| Ranking | Nationally | In District of Columbia | Value |
|---|---|---|---|
| Largest independent RIAs by assets under management | #9,639 | #16 | $64.8 million |
| Independent RIAs with the most clients | #11,048 | #19 | 63 |
| Independent RIAs with the most accounts | #8,060 | #14 | 224 |
| Independent RIAs with the most advisory staff | #6,488 | #10 | 2 |
| Independent RIAs with the most high net worth clients | #5,733 | #14 | 49 |
| Independent RIAs with the most CFP professionals | #1,937 | #6 | 2 |
| Newest independent RIAs | #758 | #1 | $64.8 million |
Assets over time
Data table
| As of | RAUM |
|---|---|
| September 2, 2025 | $46.1 million |
| October 7, 2026 | $64.8 million |
Clients and services
Client mix
| Measure | Bar | RAUM |
|---|---|---|
| High net worth individuals 49 clients | $57.6 million | |
| Corporations or other businesses fewer than 5 clients | $5.4 million | |
| Individuals (other than high net worth) 7 clients | $1.8 million |
How the firm is paid
- A percentage of assets under management
- Fixed fees
Advisory services
- Financial planning
- Portfolio management for individuals or small businesses
- Portfolio management for businesses or institutional clients
- Pension consulting
- Other
Financial planning clients (Item 5.H): 0.
Wrap fee program sponsor or portfolio manager: no.
Other business, affiliations and custody
Other business activities (Item 6.A)
- Insurance broker or agent
- Accountant or accounting firm
- Other financial products
Financial industry affiliations (Item 7.A)
None reported.
Custody (Item 9)
The firm reported no custody of client cash or securities.
Investment adviser representatives
- IARs registered with the firm
- 4
- Also registered through a broker-dealer
- 0
- Employees who are IARs (Form ADV 5.B(3))
- 2
Designations held by the firm's IARs: CFP 2.
Between 3 and 4 of the firm's 4 IARs are registered in jurisdictions that require IAR CE. The source counts registrations by jurisdiction, and many IARs are registered in more than one, so the exact number is not knowable from it. IAR CE requirements by state.
Counts only. AdvisorIQ does not list individual people.
Disclosures
Our source has no Form ADV Item 11 detail for this firm. See the detail on IAPD.
Succession and acquired firms
On Form ADV Item 4 the firm did not report succeeding to another adviser's business.
Similar-sized firms in District of Columbia
| Firm | City | RAUM |
|---|---|---|
| Sullivan Wood Capital Management, LLC | Washington | $87.7 million |
| Steward Inc. | Washington | $66.4 million |
| Cabildo Capital LLC | Washington | $66.0 million |
| Valor Wealth Partners | Washington | $63.5 million |
| Tyndale Investments, LLC | Washington | $46.0 million |
The five independent RIAs nearest in regulatory assets with a main office in the same state.
Elsewhere
- Capital Area Planning Group on IAPD: Form ADV, brochures and disclosure detail.
- Firm website: www.capgllc.com
- Independent RIAs in District of Columbia
Firm data as of October 7, 2026, from IA_FIRM_STATE_Feed_10_07_2026.xml.gz. Figures are as the firm reported them; corrections are made on Form ADV and appear after the next monthly reload.
Data as of October 7, 2026, from Form ADV. Sources: SEC registered adviser data (ia100226.zip) and IAPD compilation reports. How the directory is built.